What is a Presbytery?

The Presbytery (of the Uniting Church) is a council of a district. Ours is the Far North Coast Presbytery (district). Presbyteries can also be a council based around the group, such as an indigenous presbytery (non-geographic) and Korean presbytery (non-geographic) Presbytery consists of such ministers, elders/leaders and other Church members as are appointed thereto, the majority of elders/leaders and Church members being appointed by Elders’/Leaders’ Meetings and/or congregations, on a basis determined by the Synod. Its function is to perform all the acts of oversight necessary to the life and mission of the Church in the area for which it is responsible, except for those agencies which are directly responsible to the Synod or Assembly. It will in particular exercise oversight over the congregations within its bounds, encouraging them to strengthen one another’s faith, to bear one another’s burdens, and exhorting them to fulfil their high calling in Christ Jesus. It will promote those wider aspects of the work of the Church committed to it by the Synod or Assembly.

Presbytery Chairperson: Rev. Robert Griffith ~ 0402 008 300
Deputy Chairperson: Rev. James Annesley ~ 02 66447518

Mission Development Minister: Rev. Maggie De Leeuw ~ 0410 975 955

Presbytery Secretary: Mrs Evelyn Daley ~ 02 66215801
Presbytery Treasurer:
Property Convenor: Mr. Ian Imrie ~ 02 66451674
Mission, Education & Development Fund: Mr. Russell Playford ~ 02 6662 1139

Leave a Reply

Name *
Email *